This and That

Random bits of my life

Thing-a-Day, 2011

Posted by Avital Pinnick on January 21, 2011

Today is the last day to sign up for Thing-a-Day, 2011. Thing-a-Day is a communal blog where participants post something they make (could be just about anything — cooking, baking, sewing, knitting, inventing, drawing, writing) every day during the month of February. I heard about the registration date a couple days ago, so I joined just in time.

I did Thing-a-Day in 2008. It was sometimes a hectic experience, especially with so few hours at the end of Shabbat, to try to make something (easier to take a photo!), but it was a valuable experience. I had the opportunity to try lots of new techniques. Because it was something new each day, every project had to be very small and easy to complete. At the time I was also taking my one and only photography course, although I didn’t learn very much from it. The Hebrew was difficult for me and the teacher was, I think, a bit burned out from teaching the same course year after year, so it turned into a once-a-month trek to pretty sites to take photos. I didn’t have a DSLR in those days. All my photos for Thing 2008 were taken with a Canon S5. (Link to my Thing-a-Day 2008 photo set)

I spun my home-grown, naturally coloured brown cotton and wove it into a small bag:

Thing 20-3. Cotton spun on tahkli

Made beaded flowers:

Thing 10. Beaded Flowers

My first and only Romanian point lace motif:

Thing 25. My first Romanian Point lace motif

First and only Teneriffe medallion:

Thing 26. My first Teneriffe medallion

Only quilling experiment:

Thing 14. Quilled picture

I got up to go to the bathroom at 3 a.m. on Feb. 21 and ended up photographing an entire lunar eclipse (photo set here):

7. Eclipse - 4:46 am

I printed some of my better photos and mounted them in a small photo book (these two photos were taken with a cheap pocket camera while on vacation in Tel Aviv the summer before):

Thing 9. Photobook

Crocheted pastrami on rye:

Thing 11. Crocheted Pastrami on Rye

And pizza:

Thing 4. Crocheted pizza slice

Made paper bead earrings:

Thing 13. Paper Bead Earrings

Photographed snow in Jerusalem:

Thing 19. Snow in Jerusalem

Tatted a tiny motif:

Thing 7. Wee tatted doily

I’m not sure I’ll get as much done this year, since I’m still recovering from foot surgery, but I thought it would give me a boot out of the winter doldrums!

4 Responses to “Thing-a-Day, 2011”

  1. I was under the impression that today is the first day to sign up for thing-a-day, until Feb. 1. I love the things you made in ’08! Love that crocheted food!

  2. Aimee Ford Conner said

    As usual, you’re amazing.

  3. pam said

    Hummmmmm! I think you qualify as a Dabbler too!

    I can’t find the image of the completed bag from your very own cotton, but I love how your yarn appears on the spindle – beautiful texture. And I love the neutral color.

    I applaud your courage to take on a-thing-a-day 2011! I can’t wait to see the results!

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Hi, Pam, the bag itself wasn’t terribly impressive. Here’s a photo. It’s basically two Weavette squares sewn together.

Leave a Reply

 
