This and That

Random bits of my life

Lady of Shallott Finished

Posted by Avital Pinnick on November 29, 2010

Paper Cutting: Lady of Shallott

I made a few changes in the “Lady” this morning. I removed the frame, because I decided it didn’t add much. I reworked the willow on the left and pruned the tree on the right. Then I got a little carried away with the rushes, and threw in some flowers, a dragonfly, a couple irises, and a bullfrog on a lily pad. I could have done more with the willow but I didn’t want to over-work that part of the design, so I added a few random leaves and called it a day. Next time I’ll give more thought to the direction of the leaves. This is the first time I’ve tried doing something that resembled a natural landscape (rather than, say, biblical plants), so I didn’t take into consideration the fact that the leaves should be a little less rigid.

I added it to my Flickr set. This is my tenth paper cutting.

In progress shot of paper cutting from yesterday:

Lady of Shallott

4 Responses to “Lady of Shallott Finished”

  1. aswirly said

    It looks absolutely amazing. Very immpressive!

  2. Ann said

    How lovely this is. Paper cutting is something I have on my list to try in the new year. Will be studying your posts for tips. 🙂

    I’m glad your foot is improving. Fingers crossed the bones will continue to heal correctly.

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks, Ann! That’s an interesting idea, posting tips. Since I’m still a beginner, the learning process is pretty fresh in my mind. That would be a fairly easy post to write and might be useful to other beginners. Good luck with your paper-cutting! Your quilling is gorgeous, and I have no doubt that you will produce some lovely things.

Leave a Reply

 
