This and That

Random bits of my life

Endless Baana Scarf Finished

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 18, 2010

Endless knitting project

This was the most tedious knitting project I’ve done in ages. I bought the pattern for $2 from KnitPicks because I didn’t know about it when it was free on Ravelry. (Honestly, I don’t know why I bought a pattern when I could have figured it out myself. I think I was seduced by the novelty of buying and downloading a pattern on-line — instant gratification!)

The triangular scarf (the pattern actually calls it a “shawlette”) starts at the back of the neck. You cast on a few stitches, increase at 4 points (two in the center and one at each outer edge) and knit linen stitch until you run out of yarn or patience. I ran out of patience long before I ran out of yarn but I forced myself to finish because the project was too heavy for me to keep carrying it around at the bottom of my backpack.

The things that I dislike about linen stitch are (a) it’s too fiddly to be mindless, (b) it’s too mindless to be interesting, and (c) it requires a rather large needle size (4.5mm) relative to the size of the yarn, which I find uncomfortable and awkward.  I knitted this rather small scarf with 2 x 50-gm skeins of cotton (about 80 m/50 gm). If I’d chosen a finer yarn, like sock yarn with more yardage, I probably wouldn’t have needed two skeins. OK, so the stitch itself was not a good fit with my knitting personality.

The increasing method (m1 from strand between stitches) is not easy to execute in linen stitch, where every other stitch is slipped. The two center increases were apt to leave holes, so I changed the center increases to k1 in front and back.

The eyelet row was easy to execute. The picot edge was rather fiddly and the instructions were not very clear. My advice is to grab a crochet hook and do your own picot edge. All that “cast on 2 sts/cast off 2 sts” gets very repetitious. At least the edge of the finished scarf isn’t very large. I wouldn’t have had the patience to do a knitted picot edge on a large shawl.

Back to the Orenburg shawl. It’s fiddly but interesting.

6 Responses to “Endless Baana Scarf Finished”

  1. Miriyummy said

    Excellent post! First, you kept me entertained. Secondly, you kept me informed. The first thing I saw was your picture, the colors look wonderful and I was intrigued, but after reading about all the agro you had with this thing, thanks for the warning to stay away. I’m working on enough fiddly things at the moment, I don’t need one more, no matter how pretty it looks. I hope you get some enjoyment out of wearing this.

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks! The construction itself is pretty mindless, so if you wanted easy, soothing knitting, you could plug in a different stitch pattern. Linen stitch is pretty with variegated yarns but when you add in the shaping on every other row, that makes the purl-side rows a bit more challenging. I can’t recall how many times I had to rip out rows.

  2. Safraknit said

    You did yours much looser than mine. I upped the needle size three times before I was comfortable with it. I agree that M1 could kill a person! But the linen stitch does do amazing things to the yarn!

    • Avital Pinnick said

      I agree that it’s a pretty cool stitch. In a piece with no shaping I don’t mind linen stitch (although it seems to take twice as many rows to get the same length of knitting). With the shaping, I kept making mistakes, especially when working the purl row! Definitely not something for me to do right now. Maybe when I have more patience or grow another brain. 🙂

  3. Penelope said

    I think the colour is lovely. Enjoy wearing it.
    I looked up the pattern on Ravelry – it has been revised but it isn’t free.

    • Avital Pinnick said

      That’s right. I found out about the pattern too late for the free version. Not sure how much it got revised for the KnitPicks version. It’s not a well-written pattern. I would have changed some things, especially in the picot edging instructions.

Leave a Reply

 
