This and That

Random bits of my life

When You Wish Upon a Star… Perseids 2010

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 13, 2010

Perseids

Guess what I was doing at 4 a.m.? Sitting in the desert not far from where I live, trying to photograph the Perseids. I was very grateful that my husband came along. He’s not interested in photography but he is interested in astronomy. Ever the good sport, he made the comment, “It’s not like I’m going say, ‘Hurry up so we can get to the next constellation.'” I was very glad that I remembered to put on bug repellent and take a small flashlight. The light at the bottom is from the highway to the Dead Sea and the industrial area of Mishor Adumim.

I got two photos of the same meteor, combined them with Photoshop, converted to B/W, and cropped to produce the image. We saw about a dozen, some quite large, but this was the only one I managed to photograph after about an hour of sitting on the rocks. Disappointed? Not really, considering that last year I didn’t get a single one (2009 was a bad year for viewing the Perseids, because of the rising moon; this year we had a 2-day-old new moon, which set early). There’s a big difference between one and none!

Canon 450D (Digital Rebel XSi), Canon 10-22mm lens, at 14mm, f/4.5, ISO 800, 30 and 38 second exposures. Combined in Photoshop CS2.

4 Responses to “When You Wish Upon a Star… Perseids 2010”

  1. aswirly said

    You got a meteor!! Hooray!! I am so disspointed over here because we have had nothing but foggy evenings this week. I’ve seen NO stars let alone a shooting star 😦 I bet the show from the desert was great.

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks, Amber! Actually, it wasn’t as spectacular a show as the forecast had led us to expect — about one every 5 minutes or so. I’m not sure how they even manage to predict a “peak”. There are still a few days yet!

  2. I keep having a sneaky peek over here… but so far haven’t had a nice enough evening… Guess it’s a bit too late now anyways…

Leave a Reply

 
