This and That

Random bits of my life

Chicken Salad Improv

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 5, 2010

The time: Shabbat morning
The weather: Bloody hot
The menu: Um, can we change the subject?

Chicken Salad Improv

My original plan was to heat some chicken for Shabbat lunch but it was just too hot. So I threw together this chicken salad using ingredients I had in the fridge and served it with rice. It was very popular and I’ll definitely make it, or a variation on the theme, again. This salad was made with the hind quarters of a roasted chicken.

A couple comments : Don’t forget to remove the bits of gristle and cartilage from the chicken. I recently ate a chicken salad made by someone who chopped the ingredients without removing the inedible bits. Everyone was chewing very carefully…

Do take the time to chop the carrot and pepper finely. It gives a much better texture to the salad, even though it’s more work. Raw carrot, in my opinion, is too coarse in a salad if the pieces are large.

Curried Chicken Salad

4 servings

1 1/2 cups diced chicken
1 1/2 tbs. mayonnaise
1 medium carrot, peeled finely chopped
1/2 red pepper, seeded and finely chopped
1 tsp curry powder
1/2 cup raisins

Combine ingredients and chill.

Variations (what I would have added if I’d thought of it or had them in my fridge): 2 finely sliced green onions. A sprinkling of chopped pecans or slivered almonds would add a nice crunch, but then I’ll eat almost anything if it’s covered with nuts. I adore nuts on almost everything. Maybe everything.

3 Responses to “Chicken Salad Improv”

  1. Penelope said

    I think cashews always are very good with chicken.
    BTW do you know why you can never buy cashew nuts in the shell?

  2. Sounds real nice Avital… apart from the gristle and cartilage… lol..

Leave a Reply

 
