This and That

Random bits of my life

Wheat, Beet, and Walnut Salad

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 3, 2010

Wheat, Beet, and Walnut Salad

Note to self: Take photo of food before breakfast, not after.

This salad was splendid with a big dollop of plain home-made yogurt. Unfortunately, I only remembered to take the photo after  I had eaten the last of that batch of yogurt, so I had to settle for a photo of the unadorned version.

As far as I know, this is my own invention. It’s very much a “according to your taste” recipe, so if you prefer lots of walnuts or lemon, feel free to alter the quantities.

Wheat, Beet, and Walnut Salad

1 cup coarse bulgur wheat (can substitute couscous)
2 cups boiling water
2 large beets, cooked and diced
1/2 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped
5 tbs. olive oil
4 tbs. lemon juice
salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Note on walnuts: I don’t honestly expect you to crack them yourself but do try to find a reasonably fresh bag of shelled walnuts. If they’re stale or rancid, you’ll notice the off flavour a lot more readily in this recipe than you would in a pan of chocolate brownies.

Soak bulgur wheat in boiling water until water is absorbed (about half an hour). Whisk olive oil and lemon juice together and pour over wheat. Stir in diced beets and walnuts just before serving. Add salt and pepper to taste.

I recommend adding the beets and walnuts just before serving because if you mix them ahead of time, the salad will be very red and the walnuts won’t be quite as crunchy. If that doesn’t bother
you or your family, then mix it ahead of time.

Variations: Plain yogurt is very good with this salad. If you want something salty to offset the sweetness of the beets, a few cubes of Feta or Bulgarian cheese would work.


This salad is perfect for the heat wave we’re having in Israel this week. Jerusalem has been in the 90s during the day. It’s even hotter in Maale Adumim where I live. I’ve been sleeping in front of the air conditioner. Everything seems to slow down when it’s this hot.

My son left yesterday to accompany a Bnei Akiva trip as some kind of medic. He’s a Magen David youth ambulance volunteer, which means he gets a lot of experience taking blood pressure, pulse, and filling out forms. I nagged him to take sunscreen. I hope he remembers to drink plenty of water.

Last Thursday his band went to Ashkelon to play for a Bnei Akiva dance and spent the night there (the drummer lives in Ashkelon). In the morning, at 8:30, a Grad missile was fired at Ashkelon from Gaza. He took cover in a shelter at his friend’s house  — a tight squeeze with the kids, parents, and grandparents. They heard the Grad land and the house shook. He forgot to mention it to me when he came home and I only heard about it at Friday night dinner when my husband asked him where he was when the missile fell.

4 Responses to “Wheat, Beet, and Walnut Salad”

  1. Miriyummy said

    Sounds delicious! I love beets! I’ve got some fine bulgur left over from a challah experiment gone bad, do you think I could use that instead of the coarse.

    Teenage boys have a different agenda from their mothers.

    • Avital Pinnick said

      That could work but it depends how fine the bulgur is. Some fine bulgur will turn into dough if you try to make it into salad. I would soak a small quantity in cold water first and see how it holds up.

  2. Ann Martin said

    So glad your son is safe. He probably didn’t tell you because he didn’t want to upset you. (My boys have been known to spare me the ‘details’ sometimes.) The recipe sounds really good for a hot night. We’ve been having our share of high temps this summer too.

    • Avital said

      I asked him and he said he forgot because it’s such an ordinary occurrence in that part of the country. Sad but true! Also, he gets out a lot more than I do, so he’s exposed to things I only read about in the news. Glad you liked the recipe. I have another cold salad recipe that I’ve been meaning to post.

Leave a Reply

 
