This and That

Random bits of my life

Painter Identified

Posted by Avital Pinnick on July 6, 2010

Plein Air Painter near the shuk

I photograph a lot of strangers, although I’m still a bit shy about getting in their face. I took these photos of a plein air (literally “in the open” or outdoors) painter in the Mahane Yehuda shuk with a Canon PowerShot S5 on September 22, 2008. I didn’t have a DSLR in those days. In fact, I remember the day very clearly. I had been in the emergency ophthalmology clinic at Hadassah Ein Kerem the night before and was diagnosed with posterior vitreous detachment in the right eye. (PVD is common among people over 65 but it can occur any time if you’re extremely near-sighted.) The following day I was at the company meeting in Binyanei haUma but I was exhausted, barely able to see, and rather depressed about it, so I wandered around the shuk and took a few photos before heading home.

But back to the painter….

It takes a lot of determination to paint en plein air in a crowded place like the shuk, especially with such a large canvas and easel.

Plein Air Painter near the shuk

At this point she had to tip the easel to one side in order for a delivery man to pass by with a cart full of boxes.

Plein Air Painter near the shuk

A few days ago I read an announcement in the Jerusalem Post entertainment section of an exhibit of the works of a Jerusalem painter. I was convinced that this painter, Rifkah Goldberg, was the same woman whom I’d photographed because the style of the paintings matched what I recalled from this photo. So I found her email address and sent her the link to my photos. She confirmed that it was she and that this painting is in the exhibit, currently at Jerusalem Artists’ House. The exhibit runs until July 10, 2010 (Sun.-Fri. 9.00-13.00, Sun.-Thurs.16.00-19.00 and Sat. 11.00-14.00).

Jerusalem Faces and Places Exhibit

4 Responses to “Painter Identified”

  1. Miriyummy said

    Don’t you just love serendipity?

  2. Those are some great paintings, and how cool that you captured her in action…

    • Avital said

      You never know who you might be photographing! Last night I was asked to photograph a charity knitting group. I mentioned the article and one of the women knew her. It turns out that my officemate knows Rifkah’s husband quite well. Small world time!

Leave a Reply

 
