This and That

Random bits of my life

Sunrise over Amman, 2010

Posted by Avital Pinnick on May 5, 2010

Twin Towers of Amman

I woke up at 4:30 this morning. My alarm was set for 5:15 but I often wake up early if I have to get up for something. Last August, I photographed these towers with a Canon PowerShot S5IS, because I only had the 18-55mm kit lens. Since then, I’ve acquired a 55-250mm lens, so I set up my tripod and took the same photo again. And this time the sun actually lined up with the towers!

These photos were taken on Rehov haGilgal, Mitzpeh Nevo, Maale Adumim, Israel. The distance between Mitzpeh Nevo and Amman is about 70 kilometers.

In the cropped photo below (taken just before sunrise) you can see that they replaced the crane on the south tower, which collapsed almost a year ago (May 16, 2009), at a height of 200 meters. The buildings are still under construction. I have no idea how many stories they are now.

Twin Towers of Amman

13 Responses to “Sunrise over Amman, 2010”

  1. So you managed it then… the getting out of bed for a sunrise… lol… Maybe one day I’ll try it too… “Maybe !!”… It sure looks like you were in the ideal spot though with those towers as foreground interest… Nicely captured Avital.. šŸ™‚

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Funny but I was thinking of you at the time. I thought, “Funky Slug is absolutely right–sunsets are so much more congenial than sunrises.” Sunsets can be shared with friends and a good Scotch. Sunrises are for joggers and fanatics…. šŸ™‚

  2. cmonday said

    Ouch, Iā€™m a jog/run fanatic. Can barely keep my eyes open for a sunset. Though I love the Scotch idea:)

    Beautiful shot, Avital & motivating. Just bought a Tamrom 18-270 last week for my xti. Fingers crossed.

  3. Simcha Edell said

    Who would have believed you can see such detail in Amman from Mitzpeh Nevo! I wouldn’t normally respond to the various beautiful pictures you’ve posted (since I’m only of the male persuasion), but this really surprised me. Kol HaKavod.

  4. Margo said

    Nothing quite like a good sunrise, is there? This is interesting to see such a lovely silhouette of a landscape I have never seen. In my neck of the woods, the sun comes up behind the Rocky Mountains and turns the snow atop those mountains to a glowing pink.

  5. pam said

    Isn’t this a nice reward not only for getting out of bed at such an early hour but also for waiting a whole year to try again? It will be fun to see how tall the towers have grown this time next year!

  6. Gidon said

    I remember when I saw these towers with a barely aided eye (simple eyeglasses to help me see things more than 10 feet way) on my way to the 6 am morning prayer. It knocked me out then, and barely a morning goes by (or evening, for that matter) when I do not look for them. One of the most fascinating things about Mitzpe Nevo Maale Adumim imho.

    And great pictures, too, of course, btw.

  7. Great shot! Great timing!

  8. elifbenz said

    wow!

  9. […] in the same place tomorrow.” (If you don’t believe me, look at my photos of Amman taken this year and last year. That experience really made me appreciate the importance of the sun’s position […]

  10. […] (18,941), Irish Crochet Leaf (777), Miniature Bobbin Lace Tablecloth and Pattern (593), and Sunrise over Amman, 2010 […]

Leave a Reply

 
