This and That

Random bits of my life

Lady with Unicorn Update

Posted by Avital Pinnick on May 3, 2010

Lady with Unicorn update

I haven’t posted updates for a couple months. I put the project away just before Passover and it took quite a while for me to get back to it. I started this project on Nov. 23, 2009. In this photo I’ve completed 5135 stitches. That’s 3.9% of 130,380 stitches.

I enjoy working on the flag because there are large areas of red or blue. The mille fleur areas outside the main figures in this design are torture at times! It’s a good thing that I can use the pin stitch for starting and ending a thread. That means that I don’t have to unclamp the frame from the stand and flip it over to work on the back. All the work is done on the front.

Sometimes the whole enterprise strikes me as rather quixotic. After I worked for three years on Teresa Wentzler’s English Garden Sampler, I framed it and hung it in my living room. I don’t think a single person has ever commented on the intricate stitching or delicate shading!

Lady with Unicorn: Sense of Hearing

Share

2 Responses to “Lady with Unicorn Update”

  1. Cynthia said

    Hmmm — 3.9%. That makes ALL of my projects seem like quickpoint.

    Thanks for the link to your pin stitch pages. I hadn’t seen those before & it looks so useful.

  2. Karen R said

    That looks fantatsic!! You are definitely making much faster progress than I am on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
