This and That

Random bits of my life

My Favourite March Photos

Posted by Avital Pinnick on April 7, 2010

To be honest, March was a tough month for photographing. With Passover and all its preparations, there were times when I really had to hunt for something to point my camera at. The worst day was the night after the end of Passover. I was tired, had a million things to do (laundry, switching the kitchen to non-Passover utensils and dishes), and the holiday ended late so there wasn’t anything particularly photogenic in the vicinity. That’s why I photographed some bottles to be returned for recycling.

But, on the bright side, I got a flash for the first time, a Speedlite 580 EXII. It’s one of those things that I never thought I’d need (since I love low light and ambient light photography) and now I wonder how I did without it. I also spent half a day in the Old City of Jerusalem, so there were plenty of good things to photograph. Luckily, it was a slightly cloudy day (= more interesting sky).

But first the Speedlite…. Wow — it’s great for photos of frozen water drops! I had the tap turned on a little harder than I intended, so I got these unintentionally elongated water drops.

Pepper and Water

During one of the March rain storms, there was a double rainbow. Since I hadn’t left home for work, I stood on my balcony, shot three frames, and created this panorama. I’ve shot double rainbows before but never an entire rainbow.

Double Rainbow Panorama

I photographed these tourists with my longest (250mm) lens. I stood on one of the stone benches at the back of the women’s section and got this shot close to the front. It just struck me as very funny, all these tourists with their cameras pointed at each other, over the barrier.

How many cameras...?

I haven’t done HDR for a while. When I did the Old City one I must have been in a mood for silly effects, so it’s a bit unnatural, to say the least. I may redo it someday, with less extreme tone mapping.

Old City of Jerusalem

What I love about HDR is the way it reveals detail normally hidden in shadows. This photo of a Chihuly installation was taken in the foyer of the new Aish haTorah building.

Chihuly Installation

I’m not sure what April will be like with my DSLR in the shop. It is still under warranty and was sent via registered mail this morning to Ro’im haOlam in Petach Tikva. Stay tuned. I did manage to borrow a camera body (an old XT), which is a relief because it’s not easy to find someone willing to lend a camera on Yom Atzma’ut. Rental wasn’t an option — too difficult logistically. There’s only one place in Israel that rents photography equipment, that I know of, and it’s  in Tel Aviv. I can’t get there by 10 a.m. by bus from Maale Adumim (if it were in Jerusalem, that’s another matter). That’s not even taking into consideration the 150 NIS/day holiday/weekend rental fee.

Now I’m scrounging CF cards because my camera uses SDHC cards and the owner of the XT only has a single 2 Gb card. The cameras also use different batteries but I should be okay with the one battery because the Speedlite uses 4 AA batteries. I wish I could try it out this week but the owner wants to use it this weekend.

Share

10 Responses to “My Favourite March Photos”

  1. Beautiful shots! Sorry to hear about your camera – I’ve been there. I just got a new T2i after shooting an XT for two years- which means that I have some CF cards and even an extra battery lying around. I’m glad to send them ha’Artza for you – just let me know.

    • Avital Pinnick said

      That’s really kind of you, Leigh Ann! However, since I’ll only need the cards for a few hours, I’m going to scrounge them off my coworkers. So far I’ve rounded up a 1 Gb card and I have about 5 offers of cards, so that should be enough to get me through. Then I’ll have to borrow a friend’s universal card reader.

  2. That droplet is incredible!
    I don’t know too much about cameras. All I have is a point and shoot. A million years ago (when film was used) I had a Canon AE-1. But it was stolen.After that I didn’t want to spend money on things that could be stolen.
    But now I do, the problem is NO MONEY to spend. Going to have to save up, because seeing your photos makes my “mouth(eyes would be better) water”!
    Love you photos!

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Does that mean you don’t own a cellphone, jewelry, or nice clothing? Almost anything can be stolen. Anyway, just by way of encouragement, remember that you don’t need an expensive camera to take good photos. It’s the photographer that counts, not the camera. I was taking photos that people liked long before I got a DSLR. A DSLR makes some things a lot easier but it doesn’t turn a mediocre photographer into a good one. A lot of people with really nice cameras take some surprisingly crappy pictures! You can do a lot with even a simple camera, like a cellphone or a pocket camera. Good luck!

  3. pam said

    March not a good month for photography? I would say these images are irrefutable evidence that you are confused!

    Stunning and excellent.

    • Avital Pinnick said

      You’re so sweet! When I wrote this, I was thinking of times last month when I picked up my camera and thought, “I’m ready to fall into bed. What the heck can I photograph?!” But the flash and a trip into town were a big source of inspiration.

  4. Avital these are amazing! I love the water drop photo and have been intending to try my fun with that as soon as I am back up and running. I photographed Chihuly in ondon – they’re amazing sculptures.

    Keep posting, they’re awesome!

    • Avital said

      Thanks, Martin. Do you have a good flash unit? That’s what really makes a difference when photographing water drops. Hope you’re back behind the lens again soon.

  5. […] I’ve been fascinated my some of those water or coffee drop photos (like these ones here from Irene Muller) or even the one from Avital on her blog here: https://apinnick.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/my-favourite-march-photos/ […]

Leave a Reply

 
