This and That

Random bits of my life

Season of Darkness

Posted by Avital Pinnick on March 9, 2010

... it was the season of Darkness

I couldn’t sleep last night. At 3:30 a.m., the opening of Dickens’ Tale of Two Cities was spinning in my head. In the morning I hunted around the house for a copy of the text and thought the fragment, “it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness,” might be an interesting thing to photograph. I don’t normally do still life compositions, so this is a new one for me.

Most photographs of books that I’ve seen strike me as clichéd (especially ones with spectacles left carelessly on the page, as if the reader was seized by a brilliant idea and ran off to write it down). I liked the shadow crossing the page just before the word “Darkness.” Hmmm, think what I could do with the 1QM, War of the Sons of Light and Darkness! 🙂 (I used to work in Dead Sea Scrolls, editing books like this.)

Share

4 Responses to “Season of Darkness”

  1. Desiree said

    this is GREAT! I’m with you on rarely taking still life compositions… so normally they don’t spark any inspiration for me, but THIS. this is wonderful. definitely has inspired me…

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks, Desiree! Your comment made my day. I’m reaching a point in Project 365 where I’m wondering whether I’m getting burned out or running out of ideas, so it’s really nice to stumble on a photo by accident and see that maybe it will open up new possibilities.

  2. Jan Wiley said

    Avital, I have made checking your flickr photos one of my online routines. I first found you when I googled images of beaded knitting. I like seeing what will strike your fancy next. In the Project 365 I enjoy them all (I believe I tasted the clementine!)
    Your posting about the light/darkness is significant, I think. Consider, perhaps, 1 Samuel Chapter 3 שְׁמוּאֵל א
    You remind me of (or visa-versa)Proverbs Chapter 31 מִשְׁלֵי

  3. vincent said

    very nice idea…

Leave a Reply

 
