This and That

Random bits of my life

Purim 2010 in Mitzpeh Nevo, Maale Adumim

Posted by Avital Pinnick on March 1, 2010

It was an unusually stormy Purim — strong winds, heavy rain blowing all over the place, cold temperatures. When my son got a phone call that morning asking whether he could lend a cable for the Purim street dance, I was sure it would be cancelled. Then I heard some teenage girls dancing in the street without music. I took this photo from my living room window on the 3rd floor (used a 250mm lens). The window faces west, so I got rather wet, the curtains were blowing all over, and my son complained about the water drops on the computer monitor.

If you want to see the whole set of photos, they’re in a Flickr set.

Purim dance in the rain

About half an hour later I heard recorded music playing in the streets and a few more teenagers had joined the group. So I put on boots, a heavy coat, and wrapped my camera in a shower cap. I was outside for about an hour.

IMG_3588

IMG_3569

IMG_3573

I really wanted to get a video of the kids dancing in the rain, so I went back to get the Canon S5. I managed to shoot about two minutes of video before the batteries went dead.

Later in the day I saw a rainbow in the north. I went outside to photograph it (OK, I had had a couple glasses of wine by that point; we were well into the Purim meal), didn’t screw the polarizer on properly, and the wind whipped it off the lens. It bounced down two stories and landed on the patio on the ground level. It didn’t look like it was in pieces, so I put on a hat, ran downstairs, and knocked on the neighbours’ door to retrieve it. It’s a bit dented on the outside and I can’t get a lens cap on easily but it’s still usable. That’s the dumbest thing I’ve done on Purim in quite a while!

Just to show you that it doesn’t always rain on Purim, here’s last year’s video. 2274 hits so far! It was the first edited video I ever made. I was very lucky to catch this on video.

Share

One Response to “Purim 2010 in Mitzpeh Nevo, Maale Adumim”

  1. worksofhands said

    exciting…

Leave a Reply

 
