This and That

Random bits of my life

Day 50 of Project 365 … and Camels!

Posted by Avital Pinnick on February 19, 2010

Camels behind my house

Camels behind my house

I’ve reached my first milestone of Project365 (photo a day) – Day 50! I haven’t missed any days yet.

I had some errands in the shopping center in Maale Adumim. On my way home I took a slight detour to pick up something from a neighbour. An unusually large group of camels was down in the wadi — about 30 of them. I heard they’ve been there for a couple weeks but they must go to different places to graze in the morning because I’ve never seen them on that side during my morning walk/run. I only had my 18-55 lens with me, so these have been cropped slightly. The pair of camels at the top was reasonably close. The rest were further down in the wadi, along several hillsides. They belong to the Bedouin.

I suppose I could have run home to get my 55-250mm lens but I was tired from the walk in the heat and it’s not as though camels are all that unusual in our area.

Share

7 Responses to “Day 50 of Project 365 … and Camels!”

  1. danulik said

    Hello, where are you working/living? I saw, herad of, wadis only in Jordan, Syria and so – Middle East. Are you somewhere there? 🙂

  2. vincent said

    Hi Avital. Thanks for sharing these photos. There are so many great photos out there, but I now realize, coming from someone I knew, the photos has become even more interesting as if seeing them through that friend´s eyes. ^_^
    vince

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks, Vince! Camels aren’t exactly rare in this part of the world but it is unusual to see so many of them and so close to where I live.

  3. pam said

    What I love is that these are the very first camel images where I have seen camels anywhere but on flat ground! Love these images.

    And because i have been enjoying your blog so much, I have nominated you for a little blogging award! http://gingerbreadsnowflakes.com/node/152

  4. pam said

    I had to return and tell you again that I just love these camel images! For someone who is accustomed to seeing the stereotype camel images, these are a real treat! Thank you for sharing your images of something so common to you but so uncommon to most of us.

Leave a Reply

 
