This and That

Random bits of my life

A Rose Is a Rose

Posted by Avital Pinnick on February 5, 2010

And a rose is always appreciated!

35/365

A project manager at work is retiring at the end of this month. I’ve worked with him for years and marked his retirement party in my calendar. When he came up to my room to say goodbye, he brought me this lovely white rose from his garden. The rose probably won’t last the weekend, but at least I’ll have this picture.

The day was dark and rainy. Actually, snow was predicted for Jerusalem. Our workplace had set up a ‘snow hotline’ to tell us whether we’d have transportation this morning but the temperatures didn’t drop quite far enough for snow to fall.

During a brief flash of sunlight I put the cup on a book in the window sill and lay on my desk at a low angle so that I could shoot this photo with the sun shining through the petals and a white cloud was positioned behind the flower. I deliberately overexposed the shot by 1.3 stops so that the petals would be white instead of grey. (The blue sky looked really weird at this exposure, so I decided to use the white cloud background instead.) I had to crop the petals at the bottom because the light shining through the plastic cup caused ripples on the bottom. It looked like some weird chromatic aberration.

It’s been a while since I used the 50mm f/1.8 II lens and I’d forgotten how sharp it is. I love the clarity of the veins, especially on the right petals.

3 Responses to “A Rose Is a Rose”

  1. worksofhands said

    This picture is inspiring and can be a design for a needlelace or any embroidery project.

  2. pam said

    Excellent use of back lighting – gives the image a transparent and ethereal quality.

Leave a Reply

 
