This and That

Random bits of my life

Miniature Bobbin Lace Tablecloth and Pattern

Posted by Avital Pinnick on January 26, 2010

I designed this miniature tablecloth in 2000 at a friend’s request. Joan, a friend from the Knitlist, told me that her daughter Andrea (age 17) had been diagnosed with leukemia. Joan bought a miniature house, hoping that it would take Andrea’s mind off her declining health and asked me to design a lace Shabbat tablecloth.  I’ve included a link to the pattern below.

Miniature Bobbin Lace Tablecloth

Miniature Bobbin Lace Tablecloth (corner detail)

Torchon Miniature Tablecloth Pattern

I don’t often name my designs but I called this one “Andrea” in her memory (z”l). Thread: DMC Broder Machine 50. Grid size is 2mm or ten dots per inch. 30 pairs of bobbins.

Click the thumbnail below to open the image in your browser or right-click and save to your hard drive. This pattern is only the pricking. There are no instructions because it presumes that you know the basics of how to hang pairs of bobbins and work Torchon lace stitches. Finished size is 8 x 5.75. Ten dots to the inch, measured along the diagonal. Because I did not create this design with lace design software, the grid might be slightly wonky, so check with a ruler if you suspect that something needs to be straightened.

Hang the bobbins on the marked pins and work straight down. After turning two corners, work up the second side, sewing into the center edge.

Share

5 Responses to “Miniature Bobbin Lace Tablecloth and Pattern”

  1. Diane said

    Very nice tablecloth! I’ve always been fascinated by miniatures. There was an excellent issue focused on miniatures in Piecework magazine some months ago.

    • apinnick said

      Thanks! I read about the “miniatures” edition of PW but I’m afraid I let my subscription lapse a long time ago. I didn’t know you had a lace blog. It’s lovely!

  2. maureen said

    I like your miniature tablecloth. Although I am not a lover of miniatures, this could be enlarged to make a mat. The design is appealing. Keep up the good work

  3. deepthi said

    I am very interesting of this bobbing work .But i dont know how to do. If you can exeplane step by step how to do this i am very happy.thank you. deepthi

    • Avital Pinnick said

      I suggest you go to Amazon and look for a good book for beginners, like The Torchon Lace Workbook (sorry, don’t recall the author and I’m typing from a hospital waiting room). Any basic Torchon book will teach you how to prepare a pricking, hang the bobbins, and work the stitches. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

 
