This and That

Random bits of my life

Rainy Day Flowers

Posted by Avital Pinnick on January 24, 2010

Cyclamen in Rain

Anemone in rain

Cyclamen in Rain

Anemone in rain

All photos taken with my new Canon 55-250mm lens on a Rebel XSi.

It was pouring, I mean, really bucketing down, as my English husband would say. I went out with a big umbrella and my camera. At first I took a few photos from the shelter of a doorway, before venturing into the courtyard at work. Although these are Israeli wildflowers (cyclamen and anemones), they’re part of the landscaping of our building, so I guess you could call them semi-wild.

Did you know that it’s possible to squat down, clamp an umbrella handle between one’s knees, and operate a camera with both hands? Unfortunately, keeping a skirt out of the puddles is a challenge because you have to fold it into the bend of your knees as you squat (all that yoga is good for something, huh?), so I ended up really soaked but my camera stayed dry.

I’m pleased with how the cyclamen turned out. I find them a challenging flower  to photograph because you can’t see into the center of the flower unless you’re lying on your back, directly underneath. They can be impressive in large groups but they’re so small and pale that it’s difficult to take pictures of masses of cyclamen that have much impact.

The anemones, the purple and red flowers that look a lot like poppies, are actually related to buttercups.

Share

3 Responses to “Rainy Day Flowers”

  1. Cynthia said

    Beautiful! And I had no idea the petals on cyclamen spiraled. What you can learn by looking closely, eh?

  2. Just gorgeous and I could exactly picture you taking the photos from your description; the things we do for art, eh? 🙂 Am jealous you have flowers blooming outside this time of year. We’re still a good 7-8 weeks away from crocus/primrose season.

  3. pam said

    These images make my eyes happy! I still can’t believe – much less imagine – you taking these images in such a position! But what a glorious reward for all your effort. You definitely should be very proud of these images.

Leave a Reply

 
