This and That

Random bits of my life

Masha with Balloon / Eilat Festival

Posted by Avital Pinnick on January 20, 2010

Masha with Balloon

My officemate, Masha (who is still in my room and hasn’t been moved upstairs yet), is blowing up a balloon for Martine’s (our AA) birthday. Masha is one of my favourite subjects because she is always willing to let me photograph her. I can’t think of many women who would let me post a photo of themselves, slightly cross-eyed, with a balloon in her face.

On the bulletin board behind her you can see a notice for the Eilat belly-dancing festival (there’s also an English site for the festival). OK, they actually call it Arabic dancing, but it’s a belly-dancing festival. She and her mother, both of whom have studied belly-dancing for a few years, plan to go this coming weekend, if the roads aren’t washed out by the Negev floods.

Eilat Festival Notice

I didn’t realise that there were male belly-dancers, until Mashi told me about Mayodi, a French dancer who teaches at the festival. His site has a video.

Share

One Response to “Masha with Balloon / Eilat Festival”

  1. Fanie said

    Hi, 🙂
    I just discovered your blog via Pam from Gingerbread Snowflakes.
    From another photography lover, I wanted to let you know to keep doing the great work!

    Oh, and I did some Tribal dance last year (another branch of Belly dance) and I was also surprise to know that man could dance it and thought it was great!

Leave a Reply

 
