This and That

Random bits of my life

My Ten Favourite Photos of 2009

Posted by Avital Pinnick on January 11, 2010

Good heavens, it’s just dawned on me that we’re in the new year. (In Israel, Jan. 1 is an ordinary work day, so it’s easy to let it slip by.) Borrowing an idea from KT Photowalk and others, I’m posting my ten favourite photos of 2009. It’s been an interesting year, one in which I acquired my first serious (for me, that is) camera and started carrying a camera around with me.

1. Double Rainbow (Feb. 2009) – Lucky shot taken from my balcony one morning with a Canon S5. I had had this camera for about 14 months.

Double Rainbow

2. Purim Bride (Mar. 2009) – Taken with the S5 from a van on my way to work. This little girl just happened to turn her head at that moment, while her mother was simultaneously fussing with her hem and carrying on a cellphone conversation.

Purim Bride

3. Dandelion at sunset (Apr. 2009) – Taken with the S5, lying on the ground outside our apartment building, so that I could get the sun at a good angle. I remember wishing for the clarity of a DSLR. The Canon S5 is a good camera, but it’s still a point and shoot.

Dandelion at sunset

4. “Beyond the Suns” Performance by Pyromania (June 2009) – Taken with a Canon Rebel XSi (450D). Woohoo! At last I could do the low-light photography that I could only dream of with the S5!

"Between the Suns"

5. Globe Thistle (June 2009) – The Rebel let me get shallow depth of field and really sharp details of flowers, especially after I got the 50mm f/1.8 lens (this photo was taken with the 18-55mm kit lens).

Globe Thistle

6. Wolf Spider Reflections (July 2009) – Someone brought in a captured spider in a plastic food storage container.

Spider Reflection Revisited

7. Sunflare (Aug. 2009) – I learned how to photograph sunflares. This photo was taken through the leaves of a succulent plant in a neighbour’s garden.

Sunflare

8. Shrine of the Book (Oct. 2009) – I started experimenting with HDR. I still can’t get over the green tiles under the water.

Dome, Shrine of the Book, Israel Museum (HDR)

9. Free-Lensing (Oct. 2009) – First experiment with free-lensing, where you hold the lens in front of the camera to allow light to leak into the body of the camera.

Free-lensing

10. Pampas Grass at Sunset (Nov. 2009) – Someone was trying to fix something on my computer, so I took my camera and shot a few frames in the courtyard of the building where I work.

Pampas grss at sunset

Share

3 Responses to “My Ten Favourite Photos of 2009”

  1. Stellar photography! I enjoyed reading the back-story to each picture too.

  2. pam said

    The Shrine of the Books is still my favorite subject from 2009. Stunning architectural masterpiece.

  3. Shlomit Halevi said

    Hi Avital,

    this is my first time visit at your BLOG, I am sure not the last one. It is very intersting to see and read your view on things.

    Wolf Spider Reflections is one of the great picture I ever seen. you have to publish it in a magazine.

    Keep up this, it always fun to have some minutes tour to see your piece of art 🙂

    Shlomit

Leave a Reply

 
