This and That

Random bits of my life

Lady with Unicorn: Week One

Posted by Avital Pinnick on November 29, 2009

Lady with Unicorn

I took this photo a couple days ago to show my progress for the first week. Over 500 stitches so far!

I also ordered a floor stand for my frame. I didn’t think I would ever be able to afford one, but my friend and Oasis Guild buddy, Donna, is dying for a floor stand. Two stands ordered together from the UK means that the postage is only half the cost instead of equal to the cost of the stand. Even so, it’s a lot less than we would pay for a floor stand from the US. We’re both very excited about it.

Because of the scale of the piece it’s nearly impossible to figure out what I’m embroidering unless it’s something obvious like a flag or a bird. I think these are leaves. The dark blues on the right appear to be foliage of a fruit tree.

Share

4 Responses to “Lady with Unicorn: Week One”

  1. Robin said

    Wow….as a long time counted cross-stitcher, this is very intense…am I correct in seeing that some of the colors are actually two strands of different colors together?

    It will be beautiful…maybe this will inspire me to finish off one of the two or three simple projects that are hanging around the house…

  2. This is lovely! It’s such a change to see someone’s craft blog where they’re doing something a bit challenging. I just love the shades in this. It’s going to be great when it’s finished.

    In the UK, we call stitching with two strands of different colours ‘tweeding’, by the way.

    Love,

    Janet Granger
    Blog: http://janetgranger.wordpress.com/
    Website: http://www.janetgranger.co.uk

Leave a Reply

 
