This and That

Random bits of my life

Pastry Mixed by Hand?

Posted by Avital Pinnick on November 10, 2009

Is this for real? No knives, no pastry blender, no careful tossing of crumbs with drops of water? I have to check this out. I am the world’s worst pastry maker. Unless I use a food processor, my pie crusts could be mistaken for disposable aluminum pie plates. But, hey, I own a dough scraper and I even have a cold counter. The results couldn’t be worse than my normal pie crust, right?

The Kichn Blog has a few comments on fine-tuning this technique and mentions that Ruhrman’s book, Ratio: The Simple Codes Behind the Craft of Everyday Cooking, uses the proportions 3-2-1 (flour – fat – water) for pastry. I’m going to engrave that information somewhere handy, like my tiled backsplash. I really prefer using weights to volume measurement for cooking.


Update: Here’s the recipe.

nablo1109.120x90
Share

One Response to “Pastry Mixed by Hand?”

  1. […] on Pastry Mixed by Hand Last week I posted a video of pastry mixed by hand, with a dough knife. I tried that method on Friday (as my […]

Leave a Reply

 
