This and That

Random bits of my life

Finished Yoga Mat Bag

Posted by Avital Pinnick on November 8, 2009

I’m home sick today. Not swine flu but definitely something. I had some soup, crawled into bed for a few hours, emerged, and worked the final stitches of my yoga mat bag. Of course, it’s doubtful that I’ll be well enough to go to yoga class tonight! But at least the bag is finished and even the leaf points are tacked down. You may wonder, why Irish crochet? It started out as a plain mesh stitch and I thought it resembled a plain Irish crochet ground. So I added a few traditional flowers and leaves, then some tendrils (Bosnian crochet, tacked down with a running stitch).

Here’s the finished mat:

Finished Irish Crochet Yoga Mat Bag

Close-up of one of the rose and leaf clusters:

Finished Irish Crochet Yoga Mat Bag

Drawstring closure (tie in Bosnian crochet — chain 1 row, slipstitch 2nd row) and loop securing carrying strap. As I posted earlier, the carrying strap is looped around the circumference of the mat for added support and the end is sewn into a loop so that the strap fits tightly while the bag is being carried:

Finished Irish Crochet Yoga Mat Bag

Carrying Strap with loop

nablo1109.120x90

Share

8 Responses to “Finished Yoga Mat Bag”

  1. Lea said

    Do you have a pattern for this by any chance? So beautiful!

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Lea, I made it up as I went along. One thing I discovered, though, is that yoga mats are surprisingly heavy, so if I were to do it over again I wouldn’t choose a mesh stitch because it stretches so much.

  2. Laura C said

    Very cool! I just started yoga so a crochet bag would be a good thing to make! Lovely design.

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Recently I sewed a cloth yoga mat bag and I think I prefer the cloth one.

      Here’s the photo:
      http://www.flickr.com/photos/spindexr/4571468992/

      (It’s a bit big for my small mat, so next time I won’t leave quite as much ease if I’m making it for a particular mat size.)

      I offered to make one for my yoga teacher if she could supply the fabric. She’s interested and has a fabric stash at home. If that works out, I’ll try to post a tutorial. They’re very simple to make (took me a couple hours, no pattern) and can be done with just a sewing machine, fabric, thread, and an iron.

      Crochet stretches a lot and it’s heavier than a sewn cover, so now I’m using the crocheted bag to store the mat I always leave at home and the cloth bag to carry the smaller mat to class. Good luck!

  3. […] Finished Irish Crochet Yoga Mat Bag Image by Avital Pinnick Blogged at apinnick.wordpress.com/2009/11/08/finished-yoga-mat-bag/ […]

  4. […] Finished Irish Crochet Yoga Mat Bag Image by Avital Pinnick Blogged at apinnick.wordpress.com/2009/11/08/finished-yoga-mat-bag/ […]

  5. […] Finished Irish Crochet Yoga Mat Bag Image by Avital Pinnick Blogged at apinnick.wordpress.com/2009/11/08/finished-yoga-mat-bag/ […]

  6. […] Finished Irish Crochet Yoga Mat Bag Image by Avital Pinnick Blogged at apinnick.wordpress.com/2009/11/08/finished-yoga-mat-bag/ […]

Leave a Reply

 
