This and That

Random bits of my life

Basket-Weaving at the Belly-Dancing Studio 2

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 30, 2009

Basket-weaving at the belly-dancing center

The second session of Nuni’s basket-weaving class met last night and we started making egg baskets. I can’t say I had a great time. I cut my thumb slicing the birthday cakes in the morning and the wet splints re-opened the cut. Masha dropped the class, so there wasn’t anyone for me to talk to and I’m not good at chatting in Hebrew. The splints I was using started splintering, I don’t like the colours I chose, one end came undone and will have to be glued down. Maybe I can colour the basket when it’s finished with markers to hide the splintering, but this basket, a two-session project, is turning into an expensive mistake. Oh, well.

A belly-dancing class was in session at the same time, so I took some photos through the door, using the mirror on the wall.

The bee hive:

IMG_7686

Nechama. I discovered that she’s the daughter-in-law of a neighbour and friend, Sara Shor.

IMG_7683

The belly-dancing class, photographed in a mirror. Looks like a lot of fun but I wouldn’t be able to follow the Hebrew that fast.

IMG_7711

IMG_7733

My basket…. The green was a mistake. I chose it because someone said that I was using the same colours as I had for the first basket, so I tried to choose something different.

IMG_7682

Share

3 Responses to “Basket-Weaving at the Belly-Dancing Studio 2”

  1. arbel said

    I love the colors of your basket! Especially the green eddition…

    where do you study this?

  2. arbel said

    O.K. I scrolled down and read the first post…

    • apinnick said

      We had our first lesson the week before, so I’m really a beginner! I hope someday to make baskets out of recycled newspaper like yours. Where did you learn how to make your baskets? Or are you self-taught?

Leave a Reply

 
