This and That

Random bits of my life

Forgotten (HDR Photo)

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 11, 2009

Forgotten

This photo almost didn’t get taken. I was jogging home this morning and thinking about the weekly assignment (“Forgotten”) on a photography list, when I saw a little silver shoe at the entrance to a park. I was about 1/2 a mile from home. Jogging back with a camera was not an option. I wouldn’t be home until well after dark and by tomorrow the shoe might not be there. I didn’t want to miss my ride to work, so I didn’t have a lot of time.

I went home, showered quickly, changed, gobbled breakfast, dressed for work, and almost sprinted up the hill to the park. Beside the sparkly shoe I found a little lace sock. I imagined some mother dressing up her little girl in her holiday finery and coming home to discover that her daughter was wearing only one sock and shoe. I like photos that seem to have a story behind them. I didn’t want the shot to look like a crime site photo after an abduction, so I decided to use the HDR version because it had a dreamy, surreal quality.

Leave a Reply

 
