This and That

Random bits of my life

Movie in the Sukkah

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 6, 2009

Here are some notes on the movie in the sukkah photo. Although I was using a tripod, I set the ISO to 800 because it was quite dark and the subjects were moving.

Here’s the original, as it came out of the camera. The lighting is very yellow because of the street lights in the park behind the yard.

Original

Often I deal with the yellow street lights by making the photo B/W but in this case the final effect seemed to dark and cold.

BW

In the end I decided to reduce the saturation and increase the fill light midpoint so that more detail was visible. I didn’t go all the way to shades of grey because I wanted a little warmth left and a hint of colour in the decorations. I cropped the white area of the wall of sukkah so that the eye would be drawn more to the inner part. Similarly, I cropped the ceiling (top) and chairs in front (bottom) to reduce the clutter and simplify the composition.

Movie night in the sukkah

Incidentally, the chair that I cropped out was the one the family offered to me. This shot wasn’t exactly posed but it wasn’t candid either. I didn’t sneak up to some unsuspecting family sitting in a sukkah and set up my tripod outside the door. They knew I was there but I waited until they were engrossed in the movie.

One Response to “Movie in the Sukkah”

  1. pam said

    Enjoyed watching the transition! I have to admit to being dragged kicking and screaming into the digital world, but now that I am here – I feel lke Alice in Wonderland! Un-imag-inable possibilities.

    Just look at how you have improved this image and made it much more of a true representation of what your eye saw and heart felt.

Leave a Reply

 
