This and That

Random bits of my life

Preparing for Sukkot

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 4, 2009

Friday, the day before the holiday of Sukkot, was very busy, so I’m only able to blog about some of the things I did today on Sunday.

Dog Sweater

I finished the dog sweater! I took it over to the Woolfs in case it needed adjustments, because I don’t knit or sew during the week-long holiday. Fortunately, the sweater fits Lady well and she didn’t try to scratch it off. The red colour suits her.

Finished dog sweater

Here’s a photo I took on the way to delivering the dog sweater. These are sukkahs on balconies on Katros street, Maale Adumim, taken from the Mitzpeh Nevo road.

Sukkahs in Maale Adumim

Knitted fruit photographs

Years ago I knitted some fruit decorations for the sukkah, so that if it rained heavily at least something could be salvaged. I needed some decent photographs, so I rigged up a light and photographed them. They’re a bit crumpled, straight out of the box. There are no patterns because I made them up as I went along. They’re stuffed with the foam wrappers that come with etrogs.

Knitted fruit for sukkah

Knitted fruit for sukkah

Knitted fruit for sukkah

Apple Galette

Of course, no holiday is complete without hours of cooking and baking. We were invited out for lunch, I had soup and challah in the freezer, so my baking load was comparatively light. I made an apple galette, based on Smitten Kitchen’s recipe. Mine was far simpler — no glaze, for example. But it was delicious.

Apple Galette

Leave a Reply

 
