This and That

Random bits of my life

Spinning in the Wind

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 1, 2009

Sparkly Pinwheel

The Jewish holiday of Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles) starts next week. At my workplace, vendors set up tables to sell sukkah decorations and arba minim. I stopped to buy some willow leaves for my husband and son (they already bought the rest of the four species at home but willow leaves have to be replaced fairly frequently and bought close to the festival).

A vendor of sukkah decorations stuck a few pinwheels in the ground, where they could spin in the wind. I photographed this sparkly pinwheel when the wind started it turning. Because it was so sunny, the automatic exposure froze the motion, so I switched to shutter priority mode and slowed the shutter speed slightly to get a motion blur (f/29, 30mm, 1/13 sec — didn’t intend to set the f/stop so high; I forgot to reset it after I was playing around with sun flares last week). The sparkles on the pinwheel give an interesting, speckled effect. It was a pity I had to go in to work, because I would have liked to try different shots. But I was juggling a heavy backpack, camera, and a couple packages of willow leaves and I felt a bit self-conscious squatting on the pavement right in front of the main entrance as my coworkers were arriving.

One Response to “Spinning in the Wind”

  1. pam said

    What a happy and beautiful image! I can imagine you were frustrated not being able to play longer. But if this is your only capture – Bravo!

Leave a Reply

 
