This and That

Random bits of my life

HDR Photo in Late Afternoon

Posted by Avital Pinnick on September 29, 2009

I still play with HDR occasionally. I think that it has some potential when it’s done well. Too often, though, the results look like rather surreal:

Construction site

It’s an interesting effect but I’m not sure one can still call it photography at this point.

Today I took a photo of the front of my workplace in the late afternoon. Normally, when the sun is low in the sky, the other side of the building is in deep shadow, as this normal exposure shows:

Assignment 38: Buildings

HDR produces a characteristic flattening of tones when it brings up the details in the shadows. I tried for a more natural result in this photo (gotta watch that halo-ing!). Photomatix was used for the HDR image generation and tone-mapping. I’ve never gotten the hang of HDR tone-mapping with Photoshop CS2, which also takes a much longer time to generate the 32-bit image.

Assignment 38: Buildings

The last time I tried HDR, I used a Canon Powershot S5 and Photoshop. I think I’m getting better results with the Rebel XSi and Photomatix.

Almost every HDR tutorial I can think of has been collected on Tutorial Blog.

2 Responses to “HDR Photo in Late Afternoon”

  1. Devra Ariel said

    Wow! That’s really amazing! And the effect is intensified because it was a reflection hiding there in the shadow.

  2. […] This photo of my workplace (I’m on the top floor, on the other side of the building) is a more natural rendering of HDR. I did this image before I learned how to deal with halo-ing, so there is a bit in this picture. What I found intriguing is the way the reflections of the building on the other side of the parking lot really pop. You can see the difference if you look at the original photo. […]

Leave a Reply

 
