This and That

Random bits of my life

Periodic Table Sweater Goes Viral

Posted by Avital Pinnick on September 15, 2009

My Periodic Table sweater has taken on a life of its own. It’s fascinating to see its lifecycle on the Web. By the way, not every one likes the sweater. I learned to ignore nasty comments.

As far as I can tell, this is the progress my sweater took:

1. Sister Diane of Craftypod tweeted it on August 10, 2009.

2. Rachel Hobson picked up the tweet and posted the sweater on Craftzine on August 11.

3. Neatorama picked it up on August 11 from Craftzine.

4. Cory Doctorow posted it to Boing Boing (even has its own verb, “boing-boinged”) on August 12.

From this point the chronology gets a little hazy…

4. German knitting forum on August 12.

5. Geekologie on August 13.

6. B3tq newsletter on August 14.

7. Friday Randomness on August 14.

8. Makezine on August 14.

9. Discover Magazine in September (not sure of date when the slideshow went live).

As of this morning that page had 15,900 hits and the Flickr photo, 382 hits.

Spawn of Periodic Table Sweater: The Shawl

I am truly grateful to Gilding the Silly for undertaking to complete the Periodic Table of the Elements on a shawl. I have to hang my head in shame and say that when I knitted the sweater years ago, in the days before Wikipedia, I had no idea that new elements had been discovered in the 1990s, so the last row of elements is incomplete. I had no desire to reknit the sweater, so I’m very glad that Gilding is doing just that, on a Bond knitting frame. She is working the plain stockinette fabric with stripes and duplicate-stitch embroidering the divider lines and letters. Also, she is working the Periodic Table sideways, which fits the dimensions much better. (That should make it easier to update IUPAC approves more elements!)

Periodic Table Shawl

4 Responses to “Periodic Table Sweater Goes Viral”

  1. emma said

    Hi, the sweater is amazing, do you take commissions? or know anyone who would? Emma

    • apinnick said

      Thanks, Emma! Sorry, I don’t take commissions — too many hobbies plus a full-time job! Maybe if you asked on Ravelry. Or you could take up knitting. I’ve provided a PDF and it’s not a very difficult pattern to place on a standard square-body sweater pattern.

  2. jtorgler said

    Wow!!! I never realized that there were new elements posted to the Periodic Table of Elements, since I was in high school over 30 years ago, LOL!!! Thank you for your post and comments regarding the shawl. It is a work of art, just as ALL of your hand crafted items 🙂

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks! It’s hard to believe that in those days we had to use legacy paperware (= books). Nowadays I’d just look up the Periodic Table on Wikipedia! And I’d have learned that there were elements with 3-letter names and given up on the spot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
