This and That

Random bits of my life

Leaf Tallies in Bobbin Lace

Posted by Avital Pinnick on September 9, 2009

I haven’t done bobbin lace in ages, but I wanted to mention Tess’s video on making leaf tallies. These things are tricky! I know Tess from the Arachne lace list, which I moderate. I don’t use this method but I’m posting it because good videos on bobbin lace technique are not very common.

It’s a little tricky to see the tally itself because the camera is so far back and the light is dim, so here’s a close-up photo from an edging:

Cluny edge (closeup)

The trick is to get fat, nicely rounded leaves with smooth edges — not “holly” leaves!

I started this Cluny lace edging in December, 1998, for a bobbin lace demonstration/lecture that I gave at the Dec. 31 meeting of the Jerusalem Fiber Craftsmen, at the Israel Museum, Jerusalem. The pattern is from Pamela Nottingham, Bobbin Lace Making, worked in Bockens 50/2 linen. It was completed in February 1999. When I started this edging, I had no idea that it would eventually have over 200 leaf tallies. I also didn’t realise how difficult it would be to keep talking during the lecture while working a leaf tally, which depends on such careful tensioning of the bobbins.

I drew threads from the edges of a piece of linen and triangle pin-stitched (not to be confused with the embroidery stitch of the same name) the edging to the fabric center.

Cluny bobbin lace handkerchief edging


UPDATE: Just found out about Jean Leader’s excellent drawings of a leaf tally. She also has a video, which is very clear.


5 Responses to “Leaf Tallies in Bobbin Lace”

  1. Jenny said

    Oh my! This lace is beautiful! I have tried to join the Arachne lace list but as yet have been unsuccessful.

  2. Oh heavens this is such a great posting and the Cluny lace is just breath taking. Thank you so much. I am newish in bobbin lace ( but oldish in years 🙂 but love it. We raise sheep for spinners so have always been a “thread” addict! Can I join the Arachne list?
    Have joined IOLI and am struggling through the Torchon Proficiency Journal! Whew.

  3. Gina said

    Where is the pricking you used available for purchase? It’s gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

 
