This and That

Random bits of my life

Miniature Socks, 2001-2002

Posted by Avital Pinnick on September 7, 2009

It’s been a busy week with the beginning of school, etc., so I’m pulling a few photos out of the archives. In late 2001 I went through a period of knitting miniature socks with piano-wire needles and sewing thread or tatting cotton.

Here is my first pair, along with one of the homemade needles. I belonged to the Knitlist in those days. The Knitlisters planned to wear blue socks on pins to identify each other at Stitches, the big knitting fair run by Knitters Magazine. The sock measures about 1″ in length.

Miniature knitted sock, 2001

The thread is Gutermann polyester sewing thread. The needles were made by cutting .5 mm wire into 4″ lengths, filing the ends, and carefully polishing the sides with a piece of nylon stocking. This was before Lacis started selling steel needles in extremely small sizes over the Internet. The equivalent of this needle is 00000000 or 8-0. The gauge is about 30 stitches per inch. I cast on 32 stitches on four needles, knitting with a fifth, and worked in k2, p2 ribbing for 1/4″. Then, switching to stockinette stitch, I worked to the heel, then separated the stitches for the heel gusset. Sorry, I don’t remember how many stitches I worked for the gusset!

Joan’s sock (for Joan Hamer):

Joan's Miniature Sock, 2002

I think I made this one in early 2002. I used size 70 tatting cotton, so the gauge is a bit coarser, about 28 stitches per inch.

Pair of miniature lace socks:

Pair of miniature socks, 2002

These were finished in March 2002. Size 80 tatting cotton. They are 3/4″ long and weigh 584 milligrams (my husband, the microbiologist, has very accurate scales and noticed that one was lighter than the other; I’d left out a few rows, so pullled the shorter one into shape during blocking).

One Response to “Miniature Socks, 2001-2002”

  1. pam said

    You are amazing! 3/4″ long??? Piano wire??? And here I am with my #11 needles impatient with the slow progress! I would love to see these in person. Even with the ruler in the photo, I don’t think their size really can be appreciated viewing them on the computer screen.

Leave a Reply

 
