This and That

Random bits of my life

Ice Coffee Without a Blender

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 24, 2009

My office mate, Yinnon, invented a way to make ice coffee without a blender while he was in the army. I just had a cup and I feel very perky! (I didn’t know at the time that it had espresso in it.)

Ice Coffee Without a Blender

1. Place a 1-liter carton of milk in the freezer, shaking it every half hour so that it doesn’t freeze solid.

2. Mix a thick syrup of sugar and hot water. For 4 cups of ice coffee, Yinnon dissolved 12 tsps sugar in enough hot water to cover. That’s a bit sweet for my taste. I would use less.

3. At 3 p.m. (or earlier, if the milk has frozen sufficiently), pour a shot of espresso into a large cup, add milk slush and sugar syrup, and stir.

If you don’t have an espresso machine at work, substitute a spoonful of instant coffee.

Leave a Reply

 
