This and That

Random bits of my life

Triangular Orenburg Shawl

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 18, 2009

I haven’t knitted for ages. Last week I started a triangular Orenburg shawl.

Triangular Shawl

The Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit

I had some fingering weight yarn, not quite enough for a square shawl, definitely not enough for a sweater. It’s been a while since I knitted an Orenburg shawl and my grafting skills are rusty. According to this book, the Russian shawl knitters use 7-8 inch straight needles. How on earth do they manage to keep track of the patterns if they never see the shawl spread out? It must require very careful counting.

That reminds me of a miniature shawl I knitted years ago.

2 Responses to “Triangular Orenburg Shawl”

  1. Val said

    I like to copy the pattern. I also color in the K2tog with blue also the YO’s with pink highlighters and write down the number of plan knit sts before the next action of knitting. When I finish a row I cross it out.
    I have many shawls started in plastic boxes with each pattern in the boxes.
    I am also taking Galina’s 4 day workshop in Minnesota in hopes of learning more.
    Hope this helps. Val

  2. […] https://apinnick.wordpress.com/2009/08/18/triangularorenburg-shawl/ […]

Leave a Reply

 
