This and That

Random bits of my life

Pattern: Garter Rib Scarf

Posted by Avital Pinnick on January 15, 2012

Knitted scarf

A sure sign of winter is knitting in my hands.

I used to knit a lot — lace tablecloths, counterpanes, doilies, sweaters, shawls, scarves, leg warmers, Moebius strips, hand warmers, hats, fruit, miniature socks with sewing thread and .5mm needles, wire jewelry, beaded bags, the list goes on and on. At some point I must have reached overload because I slowly realised that I had stopped knitting. (I haven’t even photographed most of my knitting!)

But I still knit when the weather turns cold. Taking up photography spurred me to take up knitting again, because suddenly I needed warm woolly things like leg warmers and fingerless gloves. Here’s a scarf that I just finished. The pattern is very easy but looks impressive. It’s reversible and it doesn’t curl. What more could you ask for? My version is 5 inches wide and 60 inches long, because I like to fold it in half and tuck the ends through the loop. You can increase the number of stitches if you prefer a wider version, as long as it’s a multiple of 4 plus 2.

The pattern repeat is only one row and it forms alternating strips of 2 stitches of garter stitch and 2 stitches of twisted rib (knit/purl). I made it from some German wool that had been in my stash for ages. The orange, blue, and purple strands match my purple coat. (I sewed this wool melton coat about 15 years ago and have worn it every winter since!)

Finished scarf

Garter-Rib Scarf

Materials:
US size 8 (5 mm, UK size 6) knitting needles
150 grams (about 6 oz) of worsted weight yarn

Gauge: 9 stitches = 2 inches

Directions:

Cast on 26 stitches (or a multiple of 4 + 2).

Row 1: * k2, k1 through back, p1, * k2.

Repeat Row 1 until you have about 24 inches of yarn left.

Cast off.

6 Responses to “Pattern: Garter Rib Scarf”

  1. Miriyummy said

    Gorgeous scarf!

    Where did you get a 0.5mm knitting needle?

    I doff my lace yarn hat knit on a 1mm off to you!

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Lacis. It’s also a size #00000000 or 8-0. Just checked and it looks like Lacis no longer carries that size. The smallest they have in their catalogue is 0.75 or 6-0.

  2. Penelope said

    I like the colours of your scarf. Beautiful & simple.

  3. pam said

    Thank you for sharing the pattern! My first knitted scarf was all garter stitch – mainly because i was just trying to practice my knitting enough that my stitches would become more even. I really like the ribbed pattern so much more than the appearance of the straight garter stitch. Sort of like the rib give the scarf structure and order. ???

    Anyway – thank you! I am definitely making a scarf using your pattern. I will look for some extra luscious variegated yarn!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

