This and That

Random bits of my life

Craft Cupboard

Posted by Avital Pinnick on February 25, 2010

Craft Cupboard

Looks pretty innocent, doesn’t it? It’s really the Israeli equivalent of the Bermuda Triangle, swallowing up all my unfinished craft projects and supplies that are too small to stick under my bed or in larger cupboards. I tend to accumulate small unfinished projects because large ones (like sweaters) annoy me too much. This cupboard hasn’t had a serious clean-out for years.

I spread out a few of the projects on a tablecloth and snapped this photo. Then I discovered even more projects stuck into little boxes in the mess, but I didn’t have room to photograph them as well. If you click the photo to go to the Flickr page, you’ll see notes describing what’s in the photo.

Partial view of contents of craft cupboard

It’s time for a serious cull.

Crafts represented:

  • Crochet (Irish, filet, hairpin, kippah/yarmulke)
  • Tatting (lots of edgings and motifs, too many shuttles)
  • Bead tatting (I was doing a couple test pieces for Nina Libin)
  • Knitting (lace, miniature, regular)
  • Knotted netting with shuttle
  • Knotless netting (with needle)
  • Bobbin lace (Milanese braid samples)
  • Embroidery (miniature French knots)
  • Decoupage

The projects that I knew I would never finish I cut off the balls of thread and pitched in the garbage. The ones about which I was undecided, I put back into bags and put on the top shelf. I decided to use the top shelf for projects and the bottom shelf for supplies. The baskets that are on the edge of the photo are mostly repositories of tools that really belong in other places (like my painting supplies, crochet hooks, and knitting needles). The tatting shuttles are small enough to stay where they are.

The only project I reject throwing out is the miniature knitted doily that I started (bottom of blue cloth). I simply can’t recall which pattern I was using and I don’t want to try improvising with a piece that is so fiddly (Honiton lace thread on .5 mm needles).

I’ll think about planting the cotton seeds this year, since this is the right season. On the other hand, I still haven’t spun what I’ve already grown. That would be a good incentive to haul out my tahkli, right? Although I own a spinning wheel, this cotton is much too delicate to spin on something that large, so probably best to spin it on a hand spindle.

Share

4 Responses to “Craft Cupboard”

  1. Debbie said

    Is that all, Avital?!?! You are way too organized. I have a whole ROOM full of stuff that fits into this category. It would take me weeks to document it. Although, documenting it is a very good idea. I’ve had plans for years to clean up this room. Would you like to come help me?

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Definitely not everything! I have a room of craft junk, too. And a very big closet. And my son’s closet. And under the bed.

  2. Too many shuttles??? I beg your pardon! One can never have ENOUGH tatting shuttles, LOL! ;)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

