This and That

Random bits of my life

Irish Crochet Leaf – We Got Ridges!

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 28, 2009

Irish crochet leaf

I worked at this leaf, crocheting, ripping, crocheting, ripping, until I finally got a nice ridged effect like a picture I saw on the Web. Here’s the basic pattern. You can make it longer, work more rows, etc., to suit your needs.

Irish Crochet Leaf

Ch = chain
SC = single crochet

Row 1: Ch 15.
Row 2: SC into 3rd stitch from hook. SC into next 11 stitches. 3 SC into last stitch of starting chain. Continuing along the other side of the starting chain, SC to end of chain. DO NOT TURN. You will have a long, skinny oval. The stitch at the very end of your funny shape is the “end stitch.”
Row 3: 3 SC into end stitch. SC into following stitches until 3 SC from end of long oval. Ch 1 (if you want pointier leaf tips, ch3). TURN.
*Row 4: SC into every stitch until you reach the “end stitch.” 3SC into end stitch. Continue SC into every stitch until you are 3 stitches from the end. Ch 1. Turn.*
Continue Row 4 until you have as big a leaf as you want (usually 2 times will be plenty). For last row of leaf, work half of row 4, that is, stop at the “end stitch” and fasten the end.

Now my discovery: work into the back of the stitches in the row below, even when it seems counter-intuitive. The vertical offset caused by working into the back of the row below causes an accordion effect. That’s how you get the nice ridges!


Resources
Unfortunately, my favourite Irish Crochet book, Clones Lace, by Maire Treanor, appears to be out of print. Try Abebooks but be aware that they can be rather pricey.

Dover produces very affordable reprints of older patterns.

These books I recommend because they teach you how to DO Irish crochet, as opposed to following patterns:

  • Masterpieces of Irish Crochet Lace: Techniques, Patterns, Instructions (Dover Needlework Series) Dillmont’s work will teach you just about everything you need to know about Irish crochet lace. The newer books like Treanor’s have more accessible and modern interpretations of traditional patterns, but Dillmont’s book has all the basic motifs, stitches, and grounds.
  • Irish Crochet Lace: Motifs from County Monaghan Eithne D’Arcy’s strong point is the wonderful assortment of bizarre and baroque Irish crochet motifs. Forget shamrocks. Some of these motifs you’ll find nowhere else.
  • If you prefer something in the “slow lane,” these books have pretty patterns:

  • Favorite Irish Crochet Designs (Dover Needlework Series) Traditional doilies.
  • Creative Crochet Lace: A Freeform Look at Classic Crochet I don’t own this book but I’ve heard good things about it. Myra Wood’s emphasis is on larger-scale Irish crochet, adapted for clothing. A good thing, since not many of us have the stamina to work an entire blouse or wedding gown in size 100 thread with a .65 mm crochet hook!
  • Share

    17 Responses to “Irish Crochet Leaf – We Got Ridges!”

    1. Maoiliosa said

      Brilliant…just what I was looking for. Thank you

    2. Tam Aubuchon said

      It’s just what I was looking for TOO, got super excited, but I can’t do anything about it! I don’t understand the instructions. How do you mean “working” in the back of the row below? How is that done? Then, if I could do it, would one row at a time be done, cutting the yarn then starting a new row? I don’t know “where” to start, or how? Do you start on the outside working in, or inside working out?

      I feel really inept! I’m asking all these questions yet I have NO idea what I’m saying or how to start. I’ve been crocheting for 53 years but don’t know what to do with this! I need “pictures” of what you mean! Please help!

      Do you “fold” the leaf then sc through the fold for one row, tie off, and then fold the next section? I’m LOST! “HOW” do you work in the back of the stitches, there’s nothing to work ON. No exposed back loops, no posts, etc.

      I LOVE this leaf and couldn’t WAIT to do it! Please help! Signed, Sleepy in Seattle

      • apinnick said

        Tam, normally when you work a row in crochet, you put your hook under both sides of the V-shaped stitch in the row below. One half of the “V” is towards you and the other half is away from you. Working in the “back of the row” means that to make a stitch, you insert your hook into the half-V that is away from you, not the one closest to you.

        You don’t start a new row. You chain a couple stitches at the end of the row and turn as usual.

        No, you don’t fold the leaf. You are working in the tops of the stitches as usual, except that your hook is going under only one side of the stitch, instead of both sides. The only thing I can suggest is that you actually try it instead of trying to picture it in your head.

    3. [...] Image by Avital Pinnick Problem solved! Got ridges. Pattern blogged at apinnick.wordpress.com/2009/10/28/irish-crochet-leaf-we-g… [...]

    4. Diana said

      Dear Ms. Avital,

      Thank you for the crochet leasson. It is beautiful to see.

      I hope you put more of this small images on your bloc.

      May i ask you, where your from?

      I hope to learn more crochet work on your side

      Gr. Diana

    5. Kathleen said

      Avital,
      Thank you for the leaf pattern – it’s beautiful. Regarding Maire Treanor, her book has had a second printing, available
      on her website:

      http://mairetreanor.com

      • Avital Pinnick said

        I’m glad to hear that! It’s an excellent book and deserves to be in print. I didn’t know she had a site. I’ll check it out. Thanks!

    6. Tina Nguyen said

      Argh! I’m so upset…I just purchased a pattern similar to your discovery for $7. I wish I had seen this sooner! Thanks for sharing.

      • Avital Pinnick said

        $7 for a traditional pattern that one can find in any book on Irish crochet?! Double argh!! Oh, well, at least it was only $7. Chalk it up as a learning experience!

    7. Vivi said

      Shalom Avita. you visited my blog and yours looks interesting. So I will try to look some more. I also do some crafts, and photos of course.

    8. Verena Schumacher said

      The leaf is very pretty. Is it for decor or for utilitarian use?

      • Avital Pinnick said

        This leaf was worked in heavy cotton for demonstration purposes. Normally I crochet leaves in fine cotton as part of an Irish crochet doily or collar. Or at least that’s the goal — most of the time they end up in a bag in my craft cupboard! :-)

    9. […] http://apinnick.wordpress.com/2009/10/28/irish-crochet-leaf-we-got-ridges/ […]

    10. Thank you so very much. This is exactly what I was looking for. Very helpful.

    11. Reblogged this on kgilbert001's Blog and commented:
      Wonderful Information for us that are new to Irish Crochet.

    Leave a Reply

         
    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 134 other followers

